Sir Kev.

Forum to discuss everything that is Tigers related

Moderators: Tigerbeat, Rizzo, Tigers Press Office, Tigers Webmaster

Old Hob
Super User
Super User

Sir Kev.

Post by Old Hob »

There is, today, an excellent article in The Times about Kevin Sinfield and how he nearly left Tigers after 3 days in the job.

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/kevi ... -xwv0076dq
Omnia dicta fortiora si dicta Latina
Hot_Charlie
Super User
Super User

Re: Sir Kev.

Post by Hot_Charlie »

Sadly behind a paywall. :smt001
Old Hob
Super User
Super User

Post by Old Hob »

Old Hob
Super User
Super User

Post by Old Hob »

In my first week as a Leicester Tigers coach, I left home at 4am on the Monday, worked three days straight, stayed in the city on the Monday and Tuesday nights, then drove home on the Wednesday and said to Jayne: “I’m not going back.”

I felt so exposed, thought I wasn’t capable of doing the job, decided it was too much. And I have no problem admitting it, because it’s a constructive message for others. I’d felt similarly vulnerable moving from Leeds Rhinos to Leeds Carnegie, and when starting at the Rugby Football League – being in a real job for the first time.

Feeling uncomfortable about joining the Tigers wasn’t in itself a problem. I’d wanted to take a risk. But I just felt too uncomfortable. It was too far, too much of a leap into the unknown. My only aim was to do a good job at Welford Road but now I had decided I would only let the club down, let the players down — and head coach Steve Borthwick down — by staying.

The following morning I called Steve, who was on his way to meet Eddie Jones, the England coach. I told him: “I’m not coming back.” Steve acknowledged that I appeared to have made my mind up but still wanted to talk it through. He said he would call after his meeting with Eddie.