Mickey Young

Forum to discuss everything that is Tigers related

Moderators: Tigerbeat, Rizzo, Tigers Press Office, Tigers Webmaster

tac106

Mickey Young

Post by tac106 »

Thought he looked a cracking little player in the BaaBaas game. And by God does Ben need some competition.

I think some of his early England performances went to his head. Perhaps Mickey is the one to bring him back to earth.

Sort it out, Ben. He was quoted in the Mercury as saying: "I would relax for a living if I could." 'Nuff said.
mol2
Super User
Super User

Re: Mickey Young

Post by mol2 »

Don't be too hard on Ben - I think he is trying to serve 2 masters.

I get the impression the England backs coaches are meddling with individual players skills (like Toby's kicking) rather than doing it in conjunction with the club's coaches.

Ben, being young and inexperienced, looks as if he is confused by what England are doing to him which is affecting him both for Tigers and England.
I'd hope that with a bit more maturity he'll find it easier to adjust between club role and country role.

If England want him to hesitate rather than run, that's one thing, but please leave that with England.

I fear that within the England set up that they fail to utilise the players' strengths and prefer to constrain then into the rigid format that at times England use. Compare the AIs where Toby & Ben played like they do for Tigers only to see a progressively more restricted version as the 6N went on and England looked less of a threat.

England need to make the most of the players they've got and organise tactics accordingly rather than constrain players to fit a game plan. There's always a compromise between tactics and being able to make the most of a player.
Sometimes tactics have to be adapted to the opposition which is fare enough but I suspect England's coaches are too rigid - when things don't work they would see changing the player as better than changing the tactics.
PM76
Gold Member
Gold Member