Technical Question

Forum to discuss everything that is Tigers related

Moderators: Rizzo, Tigerbeat, Tigers Press Office, Tigers Webmaster

Post Reply
Phil B
Super User
Super User
Posts: 2085
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 10:49 am
Location: St Julien Les Rosiers, Le Gard.

Technical Question

Post by Phil B » Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:49 pm

Was just thinking (yes, dangerous).

Player dives into corner, and crosses the try line. No problem with being in touch. Tackler gets up, moves away. Attacking player, on back, gets up, but forgets to touch down. He kicks the ball away, thinking he's great, :smt007 and the ball goes into touch. Referee notices no grounding, :smt018 so can't award the try. What happens next? :smt017

Happy new year to everyone!!
I could agree with you...but then we'd both be wrong.

voice of the crumbie
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 1617
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 4:25 pm
Location: coalville

Re: Technical Question

Post by voice of the crumbie » Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:25 pm

Phil B wrote:
Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:49 pm
Was just thinking (yes, dangerous).

Player dives into corner, and crosses the try line. No problem with being in touch. Tackler gets up, moves away. Attacking player, on back, gets up, but forgets to touch down. He kicks the ball away, thinking he's great, :smt007 and the ball goes into touch. Referee notices no grounding, :smt018 so can't award the try. What happens next? :smt017

Happy new year to everyone!!
Attacking player has his contract terminated. :smt003
Tigers for the premiership and European Cup. Get behind the team and make some noise!!

voice of the crumbie
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 1617
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 4:25 pm
Location: coalville

Re: Technical Question

Post by voice of the crumbie » Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:29 pm

voice of the crumbie wrote:
Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:25 pm
Phil B wrote:
Sat Dec 30, 2017 12:49 pm
Was just thinking (yes, dangerous).

Player dives into corner, and crosses the try line. No problem with being in touch. Tackler gets up, moves away. Attacking player, on back, gets up, but forgets to touch down. He kicks the ball away, thinking he's great, :smt007 and the ball goes into touch. Referee notices no grounding, :smt018 so can't award the try. What happens next? :smt017

Happy new year to everyone!!
Attacking player has his contract terminated. :smt003
Being serious for a moment. I'm assuming as it's "touch in goal" it would be a 22m dropout to the defending team. I'm ready to be corrected by those who understand the laws better.
Tigers for the premiership and European Cup. Get behind the team and make some noise!!

Phil B
Super User
Super User
Posts: 2085
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 10:49 am
Location: St Julien Les Rosiers, Le Gard.

Re: Technical Question

Post by Phil B » Sat Dec 30, 2017 1:56 pm

Yes, but my immediate thought in response is there has actually been no touch down.

My guess is that the Referee has a sudden hamstring injury, and hands over immediate responsibility to another of the officials.
I could agree with you...but then we'd both be wrong.

G.K
Super User
Super User
Posts: 5645
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 10:19 am
Location: See SatNav

Re: Technical Question

Post by G.K » Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:17 pm

Have the TMO review it, he's bound to come up with something.
Nowadays referees decide matches, players by how much.

trendylfj
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 1507
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 5:16 am
Location: MARKET HARBOROUGH

Re: Technical Question

Post by trendylfj » Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:20 pm

No No No - he draws a non existent square after saying "Time off" and then goes the length of the field to watch the in-ground tv which isn't showing this weeks episode of "what's a deliberate knock on" so is left very confused. THAT MEANS HE IS A NORMAL REF
Hehehehehehehehe

chewbacca
Silver Member
Silver Member
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 3:25 pm

Re: Technical Question

Post by chewbacca » Sat Dec 30, 2017 3:32 pm

Option where ball entered into touch. Ball was never dead so kicked out on the full.
I'm not cynical just experienced

Phil B
Super User
Super User
Posts: 2085
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 10:49 am
Location: St Julien Les Rosiers, Le Gard.

Re: Technical Question

Post by Phil B » Sat Dec 30, 2017 4:03 pm

Slight problem - ball was kicked out by an attacking player, and not necessarily on the full.
:smt030
I could agree with you...but then we'd both be wrong.

chewbacca
Silver Member
Silver Member
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 3:25 pm

Re: Technical Question

Post by chewbacca » Sat Dec 30, 2017 4:07 pm

Well clearly not an attack ball. If it was not direct then line out to defending team, if full option.
I'm not cynical just experienced

Phil B
Super User
Super User
Posts: 2085
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 10:49 am
Location: St Julien Les Rosiers, Le Gard.

Re: Technical Question

Post by Phil B » Sat Dec 30, 2017 4:11 pm

I am not sure whether anyone has replied who is a "Referee", but hope that if they do they announce themselves as such. After all, it's the Referee's problem.....
:smt030 :smt030
I could agree with you...but then we'd both be wrong.

strawclearer
Super User
Super User
Posts: 3520
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:13 am

Re: Technical Question

Post by strawclearer » Sat Dec 30, 2017 4:45 pm

Hmmm... :smt017 ...did it pitch outside leg stump and was he playing a shot? :smt030
Happy days clearing straw from the pitch before the Baa-Baas games! KBO
Help save the Oceans - #RefuseTheStraw!

chewbacca
Silver Member
Silver Member
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2015 3:25 pm

Re: Technical Question

Post by chewbacca » Sat Dec 30, 2017 5:06 pm

I don't know I may googly the answer.
I'm not cynical just experienced

johnthegriff
Gold Member
Gold Member
Posts: 1023
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 12:37 am

Re: Technical Question

Post by johnthegriff » Sat Dec 30, 2017 6:06 pm

If the ball is kicked out behind the try line then it is a drop out on the twenty-two. If the ball is kicked direct in into touch by the attacking player then the line takes place level from where the ball is kicked but of course this would be on the five metre line. Of course I am just guessing but it seems logical so I am probably wrong.

LE18
Super User
Super User
Posts: 2351
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 12:13 am
Location: Great Glen

Re: Technical Question

Post by LE18 » Sat Dec 30, 2017 6:11 pm

Its either a 22 drop out if he kicked it into touch in-goal, or a lineout to the defending team if the ball went into touch in the field of play. Its not direct into touch as attacker kicked in from in the in-goal area.

Phil B
Super User
Super User
Posts: 2085
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 10:49 am
Location: St Julien Les Rosiers, Le Gard.

Re: Technical Question

Post by Phil B » Sun Dec 31, 2017 6:49 am

My thoughts :smt017 :smt017 are:

1.As the attacking player simply kicked the ball away, and in doing so it crossed the touch line and out of play, then -

2. It surely :smt045 must be a defensive line-out either on the 5m line, or beyond, if the ball crossed the line further down the pitch.
I could agree with you...but then we'd both be wrong.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests